Prom Tutorial?

Standard

Hello!

So, a strange thing happened. I mentioned to a pair of lovely young ladies I know, that I was thinking about doing a tutorial for prom make up then I get home and low and behold, on facebook, I’m being invited to my ten year school reunion. Now, apart from feeling quite old now :(, I am taking it as a sign that this was meant to happen!

Now, with prom just around the corner, I know there are going to be lots of young women out there planning what dress to wear, who they’ll be going with and, if things haven’t changed since I left school, some of the boys will be arranging the most unusual ways to arrive at the prom! Yes, at my school prom we had the standard limos, the fire engines, the horse drawn carriages, but we also had a lorry show up, complete with four portaloos strapped to the back, which four of the lads from my year emerged from. If I remember rightly, one had his pants around his ankles, and showed off his gold thong.

I went in a limo xD

Now, prom for me was a good night but… I don’t know, I didn’t really enjoy school so prom was more of a celebration for me that I had survived it! Looking back at the pictures… woof…. I won’t lie, I had a crap time in the run up to prom, with all of the preparation time being one thing going wrong after another.

First bit of advice for you lovelies. PLAN!! Plan, plan, plan! You can never plan enough. Also, GO BY RECOMMENDATIONS! I made the mistake of getting some false nails put on by a company who had a stand in the middle of a shopping centre. Looking back on it now, I want to scream at myself! The woman was the dictionary definition of incompetant, she did seven nails using the white powder, then ran out and finished the others off in pink powder!! Now, correct me if I am wrong, but acrylic nail extensions are meant to be smooth, shiny, glorious things… well…. mine were not. They were lumpy, miscoloured, rough and different lengths. I got home, cried, then painted them over. I should have refused to pay her for such a shoddy job, but I was young. It didn’t stop me from feeling a little jolt of happiness when I watched them go bust a few years later!

I really, hand on heart, do not want that to happen to anyone else. So, throughout the tutorial I might drop in a few things that I really wish I could have told myself! Actually, I really would like to do one of those ‘Dear 15 year old me’ letters, might be quite therapeutic!

But anyway, back to my point. Wow I really do like to go off topic don’t I!? I could do with requests or inspirations for the make up style, for example would you prefer natural glam look or something more wild? Or both?

Until next time,

Jen x

About 86jennypen

Hi there! So, this is my blog, my attempt at getting out the things in my everyday life that I'm vain enough to think people will be interested in! It will more than likely center around cosmetics and cooking as they are two of my main loves in life! Other than that, there's nothing really special to tell you about me. I just hope you enjoy what you see!

Leave a Reply

